I chose to write an opinion about, “Why Video Games Can Be Good  For Your Health.”

http://time.com/4051113/why-playing-video-games-can-actually-be-good-for-your-health/

 

Onto the Article, which is written by Tessa Berenson but is covering the opinion of a game designer Jane McGonigal. Essentially she discusses the good vibes that come from gaming an how, “According to McGonigal, when people play video games, brain scans show the most active parts of the brain are the rewards pathway system, which is associated with motivation and goal orientation, and the hippocampus, which is associated with learning and memory.” So all in all according to her games are good for the mind and soul. But she doesn’t discuss what type of games or any of the games names.”

Overall this is an inherently difficult topic to approach. My personal opinion however is that McGonigal is not completely wrong but is definitely not right. Her opinion first and fore most sounds like the opinion who hasn’t played a video game seriously before like most gamers do. And when I say serious I don’t mean three or four minutes of Solitaire or Candy Crush, I mean 10+ hours of Monster Hunter, Legend of Zelda or Mass Effect. As a gamer myself I can say for certain that yes I does feel great playing video games, but it depends on the title and how long you play it.

‘”When people play games, she posits, they are “wholeheartedly engaged in creative challenges.”‘

To me at least you can tell that most of her opinion is based off of a thin genre of games, puzzle games like Myst or Tetris or even Portal. With those games I can understand how she would believe that the gaming is a creative challenge, but the widest variety of top games bought last year, were games that mainly include violence. Such as Call of Duty, Fallout 4, and Grand Theft Auto. Those aren’t really games that have you engaged creative challenges but instead engaged in and encouraged to ensue violence and chaos.

The Point that I am getting at is that McGonigal has to be more open minded when she decides who gamers are and what they are playing. The majority of us play more well known titles imbued with violence, compared to the thin group of us that do play puzzle games that help positive vibes. I for one found that when fighting enemies in The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time I tended to rage quit over a clam. All in all I think that the most felt emotions when gaming are frustration, rage and anger, which sound the same but all are different levels of just being done with vide games. Games are for fun but most of us play them so seriously that we can’t really see the creative challenges within them.

