AH! The test everyone raves about!

This year, the D.O.E was very generous in granting Free SATs to all NYC Public Schools on April 5th. The test is 3 hours and 50 minutes long, and is comprised of five sections: reading (52 multiple questions; 65 minutes), writing (44 multiple questions; 35 minutes), math (no calculator) (15 multiple choice and 5 grid-in questions; 25 minutes), Math (with calculator) (30 multiple choice and 8 grid-in questions; 55 minutes), and the essay which we did not have the option to take. DOE BUDGET?

SAT-ACT-Preference-Map-2006.svg.pngThe SAT is known as the coastal-test as many of the SAT test-takers live on the coastlines of North America. See how it looks like the blue states are strangling the red? The ACT test-takers are mostly found in the mid-west where it is more popular.

images.pngFortunately due to my learning disabilities, I was able to get double-time, which also meant I had to take the test over the course of two days. I feel I did okay on the reading and writing section, and surprisingly felt okay with some of the math questions. I feel that I could have done better on the grid-in questions, but I can always retake the test. From talking to friends, they feel they did horrible, but that may be contributed to the time-restraints of the test as many of them were telling me they did not get through all of the sections and left some blank.

 

 

